Donna Does Reviews

Lots of Reviews and Pretty Things

Review: Clinique Chubby Stick in Super Strawberry

on September 17, 2012
So, I am aware that these chubby sticks have been reviewed to death, especially this shade, but I just had to review it.  Right now, these are my absolute favorite.  Each one costs $16 and is available anywhere Clinique makeup is sold.
The packaging is very nice.  It’s like a jumbo crayon, so perhaps not the most sophisticated, but I think it’s really nice.  It also makes it very portable.  I haven’t had any issues with the cap falling off in my purse, but let me know if you have had that issue.
Super Strawberry is a nice, neutral pink.  I find it slightly rosy, but that could just be me.  I think it’s a great color and I nice one that’s easy to try out if you’re new to these.
Hand swatch of Super Strawberry
These are marketed in the tinted lip balm range, so keep that in mind.  A lot of people think that they should be more pigmented, but they aren’t meant to be.  On my lips the color of these can be built up to something more intense, but for the best performance of the product I wouldn’t.  Perhaps that is why some people find it drying.
Bare Lips
My Lips with Super Strawberry
As you can see, I built up the color to much farther than one should.  With this much pigmentation you can’t get the most moisturization out of it.  Which is strange because you’d think that with more product you’d get more moisture.  But you don’t, or at least I don’t.  It actually makes my lips dry out a tiny bit if I use too much.  Now if you use just enough to get a nice, natural flush of color than you’ll have much better results.
On to the results.  This stuff doesn’t last overly long, I get maybe 3 hours out of it, but I also eat and talk quite a bit so it may last longer for you.  It fades very naturally and evenly though, so no patchiness like I get with the Revlon Kissable Balm Stains.  The best part in my opinion is that even after the product wears off completely, I still don’t feel like my lips are drying out.  Of course, once it wears off you’ll eventually need to re-apply or apply something to stop them from drying out, but it doesn’t feel awful like a lot of other products do.
Overall Grade: A, I do find them a bit pricey.  Considering how much I love them though, I’m willing to spend $16 on each.
Leave a Reply

