Donna Does Reviews

Lots of Reviews and Pretty Things

Open Box: FCS Fall 2012 Soap Box

on September 29, 2012
So, despite the fact that there was a little bit of a mishap with my box (which the lovely Hannah got all cleared up for me in under 48 hours), I got it 2 days after it shipped.  I’m just so glad that it didn’t get shipped to my old address!
I’ll just be talking about the scents since I haven’t tried any of the products themselves unless I’ve had them in a different scent.  Here’s what came in the box:
Snickerdoodle Whipped Cream – This was the product I was most interested in, and not just because I love the whipped cream product.  Unfortunately I got more of an oatmeal scent than snickerdoodle scent.  It smells good, just a little disappointed that it didn’t smell more like a snickerdoodle cookie.
Something Nutty Milk Bath – I don’t have a working bath quite yet, but I do love the scent.  It’s just like smelling a fall kitchen.  It reminds me a little of when I’m baking.  Once I have a working tub I’ll be looking forward to trying out their milk bath product.  Beware of this scent, it smells so delicious that you might want to eat it.
Ripe for the Picking OCD – This is a hand sanitizer.  And it’s my favorite type of hand sanitizer because it doesn’t dry out my hands!  Seriously, it hasn’t dried them out at all, which is saying something since I live in the desert.  The scent is really nice for a hand sanitizer.  It’s a lot of different apple scents all mushed into one.  To me, apple scents are really just for like hand soaps and such, but it’s a delicious scent if you love apples all over.
Pumpkin Coconut Crunch Itty Bitty Gritty Lip Scrub – First off, I love that this is in a tube like chapstick instead of a pot.  The scent is perfect for fall.  It’s like a sweeter version of pumpkin pie.  It’s a really tough scent to describe since it really does smell like a pumpkin pie with coconut.  Not something that you can really understand unless you’ve smelt that before.  Absolutely in love with this scent!
A Roll in the Leaves Bath Fizzy – Still without tub 😦 so that’s sad.  Anyway, this scent kind of smells like the Leaves candle from Bath & Body Works, but with a little bit of a twist.
Roast My Marshmallow Fortune Cookie Soap – This soap, like the hand sanitizer, doesn’t seem to be drying my skin out any more than it typically does here in CA.  As for the scent, I was dreading even having to put this up to my nose for a whiff.  I absolutely abhor marshmallow scents.  They always smell too sugary and fake, not like a real marshmallow, and often leave me with a headache.  This one smells absolutely divine (and no headache)!  I don’t really smell the fiery “roasted” part of the scent, but that’s just fine with me as that’s probably what gives me a headache in the first place.
Figs & Berries Eco Suds – This is a laundry detergent.  I think it’s pretty neat that they make a detergent, but my skin is often so picky with detergent for some reason that I’m not sure if I’ll use this for anything more than like sheets.  That said, I do think it’s an okay fragrance.  Not really my cup of tea though.  It’s just sort of too much berry for me.  I’ll have to use it on the guest bed sheets to be sure, but I just think it’s maybe a little too fruity for me since I tend to lean more floral, nutty, bakery or just really fresh smelling.
Cram Your Face in My Sweet Pumpkin Pie Mask – I’m actually pretty excited to try this out.  It smells nice, especially compared to most face masks which reek of something I wouldn’t normally want to put anywhere near my face.  It just has a nice pumpkin scent.  So glad that they included a mask in this quarter’s box!
Overall I think that this quarter is pretty exciting in terms of scents.  Of course, I do tend to lean more towards these types of scents anyway, so that might be it.   It’s very unfortunate that I don’t have a working tub, but maybe one day.  My two favorite scents from this season’s new scents would have to be Something Nutty and Pumpkin Coconut Crunch (oh, or A Roll in the Leaves, so I guess that’s really a top 3 scents).
Sorry for the long post, but I did have to get through 8 products and that takes time.  Hope you enjoyed!
What scents are you most interested in?  Do you get the Fortune Cookie Soap box?
Leave a Reply

