Donna Does Reviews

Lots of Reviews and Pretty Things

Copy Cat Look: Raeview’s Chanel Holiday 2012 Look

on November 9, 2012

So, this really, really isn’t my typical post.  Anyway, I am posting a copycat look today based on Raeview’s Chanel Holiday 2012 Look (well, really I just copied the eye look).  You can find her blog post on it here.  I was inspired to try doing this look with just drugstore makeup.  Yes, this does mean that I broke Project Pan 2.0.  I swear, this is the one and only time I’m going to do that.

Here’s my final look:

Yes, I know, I’m not wearing foundation or really any face makeup.  It was night when I did it and I didn’t really feel like putting all that stuff on just to remove it all.  Be proud of me though, this was my first attempt at false lashes!

Here’s a close up of my eyes:

And here’s a look at almost all the products I used (I missed the eye primer):

I used:
+ Revlon Lip Butter in Cherry Tart: The vampy lip was just too much for me.  And this felt more like a holiday party look, so I went with a red lip.
+ Tarte Clean Slate 360° Creaseless 12-hr Smoothing Eye Primer
+ Maybelline Eye Studio Color Plush Silk Eyeshadow Quad in Mad for Mauve: I used the first color on the left as the pink in the Chanel palette and the one all the way to the right as the burgundy plum in the Chanel palette.
+ Maybelline Eye Studio Color Plush Silk Eyeshadow Quad in Taupe Temptress: I used the 3rd color from the left as the dark taupe color in the Chanel palette.
+ L’oreal Project Runway Shadow Quad in The Temptress’ Gaze: I used the top 2 colors as the golden bronze color in the Chanel palette, but I think I probably could have just used the top right one.  This palette is limited edition, but the golden bronze color is easily duped.
+ e.l.f. Liquid Eyeliner: I should have used my gel liner.  In all honesty, I suck at liquid liner so much that my line was pretty bumpy and uneven.
+ Clinique High Impact Mascara
+ Ardell 110 Lashes: I used the glue and application helper that came with the starter kit I bought.  The glue probably wasn’t the best.  I think I did pretty well for my first try at falsies.

Overall, the palettes I bought cost $23.78 (that includes CA tax in LA County).  That’s a savings of $46.91 if you live/shop in LA County, CA.  And you get 3 times as much shadow.  Now, I do understand that the quality of Chanel is way better and it’s more convenient to have just the one palette.  I just wanted to recreate her gorgeous look with cheaper options.

Do you like this look for a party?  Do you think I did an okay job at copying her eye look?

One response to “Copy Cat Look: Raeview’s Chanel Holiday 2012 Look

  1. […] Copy Cat Look: Raeview’s Chanel Holiday 2012 Look Nov […]

Leave a Reply

