Donna Does Reviews

Lots of Reviews and Pretty Things

Review: Sally Hansen Insta-Gel Strips

on November 17, 2012

And here it is!  I’m sure this is going to be one of my most viewed posts since there isn’t much about these on the interwebs yet.  I was so excited for these to debut.  Here’s the box:

I got it in Wine Not, which is gorgeous!!  I would definitely recommend this color.  Here’s what came inside the box:

Isn’t that little LED just so precious and cute?!  Anyway, this kit did come with everything that you need unlike the Salon Effects strips.  So that is always a plus.  And of course, they came out really shiny and nice.

The strips were a little bit thick, which I think is why I didn’t seem to get perfect results instantly.  They applied so much easier than the Salon Effects strips though.  Not absolutely perfect or goof-proof, but I think pretty darn close if you’re being careful.  The worst part was the filing the edge off.  I hated that part and it did lead to some imperfect spots on my free edge.  Total time for me to apply these was about 40 minutes.  Seems kind of long considering they market this as 2 easy steps.  It was definitely more than 2 steps!

As for the wear time, it wasn’t quite 2 weeks.  Now, if you follow my blog you’ll know that it’s been 10 days since I put this on (NOTD for this is here).  I took them off on Day 9.  I think mostly because wearing the same color for 9 days has my nail ADD going nuts.  I can’t stick with just one color for so long.  Day 4 was when I saw my first minor chips though.  And they were really minor, equivalent to tip wear.

And it was all downhill from there.  I would probably have been able to leave it on for the full 2 weeks if I wasn’t itching to put a new color on.

The starter kit that I bought for this review cost $27.99 (not including tax).  The refill kits cost $13.99 each.  And here’s a small point of contention with me.  The refill kits always come with the gel top coat.  That means that you’re going to be stuck with a billion bottles of the same top coat since they aren’t tiny 1 full application only bottles.  I just find that to be wasteful.  I wish they’d just sell that separately and bring the cost of the refill strips down just a bit.  Otherwise, I loved these.  They were shiny for the full 9 days I wore them and lasted on my nails for a lot longer than anything else I’ve tried.

Here’s what my right hand looked like right before I removed them:

The removal process was just as simple, and a lot quicker than the application process.  You soak the cotton and then tin foil your nails.  Kind of makes you look like an alien, but that’s okay.  I did one hand at a time because that was easier, but if you’re super talented you could probably do both at once.

Overall Grade: B.  I really wanted to love these, but with the chipping that occurred and the whole being forced to buy another top coat when you still have some left really brought down the grade.  I’ll still be getting at least 2 of the refills though, whenever I’m through with Operation Untried Polish.

Are you planning to try these?

 

Leave a Reply

