Donna Does Reviews

Lots of Reviews and Pretty Things

Review: Clinique Superbalm Moisturizing Gloss

on December 8, 2012

I got this in 02 Raspberry as a free gift with my order on Clinique.com.  A full-size one is 0.5 fl. Oz/ 14.79 mL for $15.  These come in 8 different shades.  I’ve had this for quite some time, but just recently decided to open it up and try it out.  Let’s just say I regret waiting and move on with this review.

The applicator is one of those little slant tip ones.  Both this treat size and the full size have a transparent tube so you can see what color it is, something that a person with as much lip product as me really appreciates.  I also love seeing how much product I have left in a tube.

The color itself is nice.  It’s not intensely pigmented, but it leaves a nice shine with no shimmer in sight.  It’s absolutely perfect for my conservative, engineering office.

The formula is beyond awesome.  I don’t know if it’s just me, but I adore it to pieces.  It’s slightly thick, so if that bothers you this might not be a hit in your book.  I find it very moisturizing though and has no stickiness at all!  It just leaves your lips with a little bit of shine.  This would be great on top of a stain to make it glossier looking or on top of a matte lipstick if you’re like me and don’t like the matte look particularly.  Just be aware to not put too much on or it will feel too tacky. 

02 Raspberry on Bare Lips

I find wear time to be average for any standard gloss, but the hydrated feel on your lips lasts longer than the shininess, so who doesn’t love that?  In fact, after it seemingly wears off completely I don’t feel the need to rush to a lip balm.  That in and of itself is worth the price tag.

Overall Grade: A+.  In fact, I’ve broken Project Pan 2.0 yet again to pick up the set of these that came out with Clinique’s holiday sets.  Clinique has been stealing my heart so much this year, it’s unbelievable.

Have you tried any of these?  What do you think?  Too thick?

Leave a Reply

