Donna Does Reviews

Lots of Reviews and Pretty Things

Review: Clinique Chubby Stick Intense in Chunkiest Chili

on December 10, 2012

So, I’ve got this in 2 colors right now, Chunkiest Chili (what an awful name) and Roomiest Rose.  I’ve only started using the Chili one because the other is a Project Pan reward.  Anyway, these are the newest thing to come out in Clinique’s Chubby Stick line.  They are a punched up version of the original chubby stick.  There are 8 different shades, so you’re bound to find something that you love.  And they retail for $16 each, just like the original ones.

When I first got this and put it on, I didn’t like it nearly as much as the original version.  It had been sitting on my front step for who knows how long and therefore was quite hard.  Now that it’s warmed up and I’ve been wearing it for a bit it’s been acting better.

The pigmentation on these is so much better than the original ones.  If you loved the chubby sticks but wished they had more color payoff, these are probably going to be your new best friend.  I do find that they are the tiniest bit less moisturizing than the originals, but that was to be expected.  And if my lips weren’t so picky about moisture I probably wouldn’t even notice a formula difference.  I know that the colors are different, but hopefully you can see that one is more pigmented than the other.  I just don’t own an original one that’s of a similar shade.

On Left: CS Intense in Chunkiest Chili (3 swipes and 1 swipe)
On Right: CS Original in Super Strawberry (3 swipes and 1 swipe)

Wear time is a little bit better than the original ones.  I assume this is because of the increase in pigmentation.  I’d guess I get about 3 hours of wear, but it’s hard to tell since I eat and talk so often.

As for Chunkiest Chili, it’s a nice almost brick red color with a faint amount of silver shimmer.  I don’t know if my camera will even be able to show you the shimmer since it is so faint.  This is just such a holiday appropriate color to me.  Of course, that’s probably because I only tend to rock red lips around the holidays.  Anyway, it’s an absolutely gorgeous color as you can see.

Overall Grade: A-, better than your typical lipstick and a nice color selection.

Are you as excited as me for this new intense version of the Chubby Stick?  What colors are you going to be picking up?

One response to “Review: Clinique Chubby Stick Intense in Chunkiest Chili

  1. Lori Morefield says:

    I found a great dupe for Clinique Chubby Stick in Super Strawberry. It is Neutrogena MoistureSmooth color stick in Soft Raspberry #60. I haven’t found anything that could possibly come closer. It’s great, and less than half the price.

Leave a Reply

