Donna Does Reviews

Lots of Reviews and Pretty Things

Review: CoverGirl LipPerfection Jumbo Gloss Balm

on December 14, 2012

So these are yet another version of the Clinique Chubby Sticks, so of course I could not resist.  Seriously?  Like I need more lip products?  This purchase was all thanks to prettydaysies on YouTube because I saw her review of them (found here).  LOL, anyway, I got 2 of these off of Soap.com because I couldn’t find them anywhere around me.  Hopefully they are part of the permanent line, but I’m pretty sure that they are.  Each one was $6.99 and they come in 31 colors (15 in the regular line and 16 in the Queen Collection line).

First up is the packaging.  As many people have said before, they hate that the name is only on the outer wrapping.  CoverGirl does this pretty often actually.  It’s kind of annoying, but I’ve just made sure that the plastic bit is only removed partially and then tucked some excess into the cap and flattened it out around the inside edge of the cap.  This way I can keep the color name as well as the number.  Honestly though, after I do this review with the 2 colors I have, I probably wouldn’t be too upset to ditch the plastic since the caps are the color of the gloss balm themselves.

The 2 colors I picked up were Scarlet Twist and Jam Twist.

L-R: 3 Swipes of Scarlet Twist, 1 Swipe of Scarlet Twist, 3 Swipes of Jam Twist, 1 Swipe of Jam Twist

Scarlet Twist is a nice red.  It’d be good for someone who isn’t really bold enough for a bright red lip or who works in a conservative office.  I think it’s a great color.  Jam Twist is a great berry color.  I find this one to be absolutely fantastic and I’m glad I picked it up.  There weren’t many swatches out there when I purchased mine. 

Lip Swatch of Scarlet Twist

Lip Swatch of Jam Twist

The formula is very comparable to the Clinique Chubby Sticks.  In fact, it’s the most comparable to them that I’ve ever found, and you know how much I love to buy lip products.  It’s got pretty sheer color, but can be built up.  They are relatively moisturizing as well.  I wouldn’t use these as a lip treatment, but you can wear them on their own without a lip balm on top or underneath and not feel like your lips are just going to chap and flake right off.  A little word of advice though.  Just like the Chubby Sticks, these are better used when they are a little warm.

 Overall Grade: A.  The formula and price point alone are reason enough.  I do wish that maybe some of them had a little more color payoff, but who knows.  In a year they could be coming out with their version of the Chubby Stick Intense.  All in all, a great alternative to the Chubby Stick if you can’t (or don’t want to) swallow the $16 price tag.  Another fantastic drugstore find!

Are you going bonkers over these like I am?  What colors have you tried?  Any recommendations on which ones I should get after Project Pan 2.0 is finally over?

Leave a Reply

