Donna Does Reviews

Lots of Reviews and Pretty Things

Review: Tarte LipSurgence Natural Matte Lip Tint

on December 23, 2012

I’m absolutely in love with all of these chubby pencils for your lips.  I got this one in the Sephora Favorites Give Me Some Lip set, which of course as a major lip product junkie I had to have.  Normally this product retails for $24 for 3 g.  In the set you get Hope, a gorgeous warm rose color.  I’m writing the review for the natural matte formula based on this color, so hopefully the others with this finish/formula are all the same.

The packaging is great and really easy to throw in your purse.  Granted, I’d be very careful applying this as they are pretty pigmented, so you should apply in front of a mirror.  The product twists up instead of having to be sharpened, so that’s fantastic.

The formula itself is pretty good.  And considering that it’s a matte formula, it’s not ultra-drying.  I wouldn’t say that it has a moisturizing formula, but you can go maybe an hour before your lips feel awfully chapped.  I’ve always worn this with a lip balm of some kind under it.  I also normally put lip gloss on top because I’m not a particularly huge fan of the matte lip look.

Just a tiny bit on the color Hope (since this review is meant to be on the formula), it’s definitely MLBB and just perfect for every day.  And with a nice clear gloss on top I do feel comfortable wearing it every day at my relatively conservative office.

SAM_1849

Smells and tingles of peppermint.  If you don’t like that, you probably won’t like these.  They are the strongest peppermint smell of any lip product that I currently own.  I don’t mind the tingle, I don’t find it too intense, but if you’re sensitive to that stuff I’d be aware.

Overall Grade: B-.  I’d probably rate it higher if matte formulas were more my cup of tea, but I just wish that these were a little less drying (I’m just picky like that).

Leave a Reply

