Donna Does Reviews

Lots of Reviews and Pretty Things

Review: Ajinomoto Yakisoba Fried Noodle Bowls

on March 29, 2013

20130321-154702.jpg

 

So I picked these up on my last trip to Costco.  I forget how much they were, but I think they were about $12 for the box of 6 bowls.  This brand is only available on the west coast (CA, OR, WA, and NV).  And a glance at their website doesn’t even show these bowls as far as I can see.  Perhaps these are something new their just trying out?  Or does Costco do exclusives?

At first I was very skeptical of the whole thing.  I’ve seen my fair share of food, but this thing came out of the box like a frozen puck of noodles.  It didn’t look very appetizing at all.  I followed the directions though and out popped this:

20130321-154711.jpg

Once I stirred it all up it tasted amazing.  Probably nothing you couldn’t get at your run-of-the-mill chinese fast food joint, but for coming out of my freezer looking like a hockey puck I was pretty impressed.  Now, that being said, I have since discovered that I have to add 30 seconds to the cook time in my microwave to get everything fully hot.  I don’t know if anyone else has that issue, but I don’t think my microwave is very powerful. 

To be fair to my microwave though, I got it for free from a bachelor who lived in an airport hangar so what did I really expect?  And I really only use the thing to make microwave popcorn and soften butter for my cookies.  Anyway, I thought these were pretty good for something that I microwave for 3.5 minutes.

Overall Grade: B.  These bowls are worth a shot for something quick and tasty, especially at about $2 a bowl.

6 responses to “Review: Ajinomoto Yakisoba Fried Noodle Bowls

  1. Tiea Aeon says:

    I just picked up a box of these at our Costco because they were doing the “tasting” for them and I got to try them. I LOVE them. The lady handing out the ‘tastings’ of them said she had never seen them before. So I bet they are something that is new. Also, yes, Costco does do exclusives. I went online to find a review or even the product at the website on the box and yours was the only one I found. Costco doesn’t have them listed and the company (ajifrozenusa.com) doesn’t even have them listed. For only $2 a bowl (Yes, they run about $12 for a package of 6) it is very good and will feed 2 people. I find it so hard to find vegetarian food that is TASTY and I found this to be excellent in that department.

  2. Robert says:

    As a Former Marine who served some time in Japan on the island of Okinawa. One of my fondest memories is of eating Yakasoba fresh, made at a local small restaurant in town. That was 1975-76. I have been searching since for a recipe, or a similar dish here in America. I saw this at Cosco in Sioux Falls, SD and bought a box. It is so close to the Yakasoba I remember from way back then. Only difference is it doesn’t have any meat. The yakasoba back then had thinly sliced beef strips in it similar to stir fry beef. But the flavor was dead on to what I remembered. Great stuff.

  3. Marc says:

    Sadly they are made in china…..gross. Throwing the rest of mine out.

  4. Art says:

    Robert is correct. These are dead on for flavor. I lived and worked in Tokyo in the 80’s and getting a serving of yakisoba from a street vendor was a tasty and quick meal anywhere in the country. This frozen version is well worth the money. I add some thinly sliced cooked pork, and chicken, or pork, and it’s just like being on the streets of Sendai after a night of karaoke and sake!

  5. ranchnumber51 says:

    I disagree with Tiea, one serving will NOT completely feed two people (unless the two people are small children). It is a decent sized serving however and for the quality, $2 each is very fair. I absolutely LOVE these and could eat them every day. The vegetables are of extremely high quality and there is nothing I feel the need to pick out (even the water chestnuts, lol). I don’t love the picture on the box as it completely false advertising, but even though the actual product looks nothing like the picture, it’s still very tasty.

  6. Tanya Parker says:

    I bought these at Costco as well. For the taste and price you can not beat it. I just hate that it has so many carbs and so much sodium 😦 Hard to believe that it could have so many calories, carbs, and sodium. ) Most definitely something to enjoy occasionally. I got the box that has 6 or 9 individual plastic pouches. I just take one out and put it in my lunch box, dump it in a bowl at work, pop it in the microwave and its great for what it is. The price was great as I bought mine when it had a four dollar coupon off. Would eat them a lot if not for the C,C, and S . Feed two people with each pouch? Well I suppose true to form that if you use your hand in the center for a serving size that yes it will feed two people. I would suggest some celery sticks or something to go with it. I suppose you could add some vegetables?

Leave a Reply

