Donna Does Reviews

Lots of Reviews and Pretty Things

Review: Almay Liquid Lip Balms

on June 3, 2013

So, I’ve only tried one of these so far.  I found mine at Target for $4.99 and thought I’d try it.  Like I need any more lip products lol.

SAM_2324

The label that seals the tube (and thank goodness it has one of those since I am always weirded out by products that don’t have a clear indicator of whether it’s been tried or not) peels away to reveal a label that has the product name and remains attached to the tube.  The color that I purchased is 600 Blooming Balm.

SAM_2326

It’s a lovely light pink shade, although as these are lip balms I don’t know if any of the shades particularly show up.  The opacity is quite sheer when on the lips, not at all like the below swatch.

SAM_2333

The formula I find is most like that of a MAC tendertone.  It’s glossy, with a tad bit of grip.  I don’t want to say it’s sticky because it’s not, but it does have a weight to it that is sort of grippy.  I actually find that it’s the perfect texture for me.  And while the color is nothing to be wowed about, it is very nice and healthy looking for everyday use.

When I first got this I was quite skeptical because of the mixed reviews online.  I’m never one to shy from a lip product though, and I’m glad I gave this a shot.  When I first started using this my lips were pretty chapped.  After only a few uses my lips were soft and back to their usual selves.  Will this be the case for you?  Who knows, all people are so different that it’s hard to say.  I typically have combo to normal skin and the same goes for my lips.  I say, give it a try.  I really enjoy it and maybe you will too.

Overall Grade: A+.  I don’t think I could ask for anything more out of a product that calls itself a liquid lip balm.  In fact, the fact that it has any color payoff seems like just a bonus.  I would like to see Almay come out with a clear one, but perhaps that seems silly when I can just slap on of these on and the color isn’t too intense.  Anyway, if Almay is reading this, please don’t discontinue these and please make a clear one that I can put on over a lipstick.  Thanks!

Have you tried any of these?  What did you think?  What color should I get next?

 

One response to “Review: Almay Liquid Lip Balms

  1. […] Jennifer on Etsy), and a slim Clinique mirror hiding in the back.  Right now I’m harboring 2 Almay Color+Care Liquid Lip Balms (Apple a Day and Rosy-lipped) and a Maybelline Color Elixir in Rose […]

Leave a Reply

