Donna Does Reviews

Lots of Reviews and Pretty Things

Review: FriXion Pens (+ bonus mini review of FriXion Highlighters)

on June 7, 2013

This love affair started with 2 that I received in an Influenster box, but I have since purchased another set so I think that it’s safe to say that I adore these. And I have a bunch of the Japanese version of these in my wishlist on 2 different pen websites. Seriously, I love these. The pigmentation is pretty good and they come in some fun colors. Here in the States though there are only 8 colors to pick from. Plenty for regular person, but not quite enough for a pen junkie like myself. They are marketed as an erasable gel pen that lets you write, erase, and write again without damaging a document.

SAM_2356

Let’s just discuss this claim a bit shall we? The ink isn’t actually erased. In fact, on certain papers you can see the whited (for lack of a better term coming to mind) version of what you erased. Now, unless you’re like me and looking at the paper at all different angles, you’re not going to be able to see it anyway so it won’t bother most people. The ink itself is actually thermosensitive ink, so when you erase the text it’s really just making the pigment of the ink go clear-ish. Hopefully I can get a picture of it so you can see what I’m talking about. It is sort of erasable though, so I’ll let it slide as you can’t see the writing unless you’re inspecting the paper for it. And it really doesn’t damage your paper. As long as you’re not super rough with it of course. So as far as claims go, this one technically lives up to its claims.

SAM_2347

Overall Grade: A+. I love these. I really love them because I can use them in my sewing and then just iron over to make the lines disappear. Just be warned that if the erased writing is introduced to a really low temperature (like a freezer), the ink will become visible again.
Bonus Mini Review: Pilot FriXion Light Highlighters
So since these relate and I don’t have much to say about these I went ahead and combined these two reviews. The highlighters come in 5 different colors (yellow, orange, pink, green, and blue). I picked up a 3 pack and I’m glad I didn’t go overboard with these. While they work fine as a highlighter, when you try to erase the highlighting, it just doesn’t seem to work. The highlighted mark and the ink underneath just seem to smear around a bit. Not pleasant, especially if you were trying to use it to highlight your notes and wanted to erase a bit of highlighting.

SAM_2363

Overall Grade: D-, and only that high because I can still use them as highlighters.

Have you tried either of these products? Love them? Hate them? Let me know in the comments 🙂

Leave a Reply

