Donna Does Reviews

Lots of Reviews and Pretty Things

2013 Holy Grail Beauty Products

on January 4, 2014

So this year is going to be just 1 “massive” post.  In the past I used to break it up into a mini series of sorts, but that just seemed unnecessary.

For Face:

SAM_2705

Primer – Smashbox Photo Finish.  I haven’t had this for a while as it is quite pricey, but I love the feel of it and the performance is fantastic.
Concealer – Lancome Maquicomplet is my absolute holy grail concealer.  I have it in Camée and it is the most perfect match for my skin.  As an affordable alternative though I do enjoy the Maybelline Dark Circle Corrector enough to mention it here.
Foundation – bareMinerals READY Foundation (I wear R310 Medium Tan).  I find this to be easy and not too heavy.  I really enjoy it in the winter as it is a little hydrating.  It’s not too hydrating for summer use though.
Cheeks – MAC Sincere will forever hold a place in my heart.  I know it looks like absolutely nothing in the pan, but trust me it’s gorgeous.  It just works with my skin tone and helps diminish my hyperpigmentation on my cheeks.
Powder – bareMinerals READY Touch Up Veil.  I love all of the mineral veils from Bare Escentuals, but I enjoy the pressed version quite a bit for its convenience and portability.

For Eyes:

SAM_2709

Primer – Too Faced Shadow Insurance.  I’m not sure what it is about it, but I do really enjoy this primer.  It just works.
Shadow Palette – Maybelline Eye Studio Silk Plush Quads.  I’ve had a few of these and they are just outstanding.  I find them to be fantastically blendable and easy to work with (although some have a bit of fallout).  I have also fallen in love with the bareMinerals READY eye shadows.  They are nice and blendable and come in such pretty color combinations.
Singe Shadow – I don’t have one for this year *gasp*
Eyeliner – Urban Decay 24/7 Pencil Eyeliner.  Almost all of my eyeliners are these ones.  I just adore them.  They don’t smudge once they set and they come in every color of the rainbow.
Mascara – Clinique High Impact.  I’m not sure what it is about this mascara, but it does some really nice things to my lashes.  I also love the Maybelline Great Lash BIG.  It’s so much more affordable too.  I think maybe $5 at most drugstores, but don’t quote me on that.

For Lips (my favorite!):

SAM_2710

Lipliner – I enjoy the bareMinerals Marvelous Moxie lipliners when I use lipliner (almost never).  They just glide on and stay there perfectly. 
Lipstick – I really love my Revlon Lip Butters.  I reach for these the most often when I reach for lipstick.  They’re just well pigmented and creamy and moisturizing.  Staying power isn’t great, but I love everything else so much more that I don’t care about the staying power.  I also really enjoy my bareMinerals Marvelous Moxie lipsticks.
Lipgloss – NYX Butter Gloss.  The formula on these is amazing.  Now if they would only make more colors that I can wear it would be perfect.  I’ve actually moved away from most lipgloss.
Tinted Balm – This was the hardest category to choose for.  I did narrow it down to the Clinique Chubby Sticks and Almay Color + Care Liquid Lip Balm.  Both of these perform great for me.  I do wish they both had more of a color selection though.  Clinique is getting better with that, but Almay doesn’t have too many colors.

Leave a Reply

