Donna Does Reviews

Lots of Reviews and Pretty Things

Review: L’Oreal Extraordinaire by Colour Riche Liquid Lipstick

on January 6, 2014

20140103-205738.jpg

I just found these at CVS, but I think they’ve been around for a little while.  It’s a permanent range, so no need to rush out (although I did buy this on Project Pan 3.0 as I can’t resist lip products).  I got mine for $10.49+tax.  I’m pretty sure it’s cheaper at Target though.  There are 16 shades in the range with a wide variety of colors.

SAM_2717

I like the packaging well enough, although it does bother me that there’s no view window to see the color that’s in the tube.  It has a color representation that’s relatively close, but I would check out swatches of everything before buying if you’re wary like I was.  The doe foot applicator is pretty standard.  And it seems to put quite a bit of product down at a time so there’s no need to dip back in for more layers.

There is a slight scent to this.  It’s kind of fruity.  I enjoy it, but I know some people don’t like scent in their products so I thought I’d mention it.

Bare Lips

Bare Lips

L'Oreal Extraordinaire in 103 Blushing Harmony

L’Oreal Extraordinaire in 103 Blushing Harmony

The formula on this is quite lovely.  It’s smooth and creamy.  The pigmentation on the one I got (103 Blushing Harmony) isn’t ultra pigmented, but it’s the level of pigmentation that I enjoy.  It’s about a medium pigmentation level, although I think the darker colors would of course have a much higher pigmentation.  The finish is a bit glossy in the beginning, so no need for an extra gloss on top.  The wear time on these is about 1.5 hours on a color like this (a bit light).

Overall Grade: A.  While the color variety is quite good for a first launch, I only found 5 colors that I would be interested in.  I hope they come out with other colors, but I won’t be buying any more for quite a while as I’m still on Project Pan 3.0 and I have way more lip products than I should own.

Now for a few comparisons:
vs. L’Oreal Caresse Wet Shine Stain
SAM_2719
Long name, that I’m not entirely sure I have right.  Anyway, since these are a stain they do last quite a bit longer.  The doe foot applicator itself isn’t all that different.  I do slightly prefer the Wet Shine’s applicator though as it gives a more precise application.  The formula is quite a bit different.  The Wet Shines start off really liquid-like, then dry down to something that feels okay as long as you don’t rub your lips together too much, and then once it’s wearing off it becomes a sticky mess.  I definitely prefer these new Extraordinaires better.

vs. Maybelline Color Elixir Lip Color
SAM_2720These are actually quite comparable to each other.  As with the Wet Shines though, I do prefer the applicator on the Color Elixirs as it allows for more precise application.  The wear time between these two is very similar.  I think the Color Elixirs last a little bit longer, but that may be a difference in color pigmentation as I don’t have a comparable color in both of these lines to truly say.  As for the moisturization, I find the Color Elixirs to be superior to the Extraordinaires.  And the moisturization seems to linger after the Color Elixirs wear off where as the Extraordinaires leave your lips wanting more when it wears off.  I also think that the color selection of the Color Elixirs is much better.  I prefer the Maybelline Color Elixirs more, but I do find the formulas and prices to be comparable.

Leave a Reply

